Breaking the foundations into pieces

January 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

A ~30 second story about something that hapened to me today for DS106

I work in the Jennie Lee builiding, at the Open University’s Milton Keynes campus. Around 11 a.m I was analysing some data from questionnaires, a series of 5 questionnaires showing how the respndents views of something varied with time. The ‘something’ isn’t important to this story, it’s not the theme of this story. What is important is that it was a lot of complex data and I’m trying to fiqure out how to make sure I extract all the data from an individual participant efficiently and display it in a coherent way. Anyway, I’m really concentrating hard, and I’m not particularly interested in the mechanics of the the task, I just want it finished now (or sooner), so I can get onto the interesting bits (i.e. analysing it), when just as I feel I’m making some progress this massive pneumatic pile driver starts breaking up the foundations of the Crowther building, just oustide my office window.

The Crowther building’s where I used to work, but it’s now being demolished as this view from my office window shows (warning this, video is 1 minute and 30 seconds long, but you’ll get the gist in the first 10 seconds)   . I was only in there for a couple of years but some of my colleagues spent decades working there. I’m not sad to see the building go.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Breaking the foundations into pieces at Music and stuff.

meta

